Offline soup
Male
  • [ R I S E ]
  • 1,480 posts
    • keeeeeir on Skype
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2016 07:24 PM »
yeh everything is subjective. what makes for a financial success can still be a disappointment to the majority of the population. vice versa im sure there are objectively "good" shows out there that bomb hard when its left to the public to decide the rating. i cant take this guy seriously considering he seems to be saying so little with so many words. a lot of what he says is common sense and not even worth mentioning / far too specific and not really applicable to anything except the scene/show he is reviewing

i think if he had instead presented typical techniques that regularly feature in an objectively "good" story instead of analyzing one very specific plot and and picking them out as they come up he wouldnt come across as grating / a weeb

maybe he does this later. i cant watch anymore.

im studying a lot of the science behind why people do and do not enjoy different forms of media. the subtle and not so subtle ways media is used to manipulate your emotions. otherwise i wouldnt get involved in this

tl;dr after 19 mins of his "advice" all i can hear is nasal white noise
"He was shown the smallness and tinsel emptiness of the little Earth gods, with their petty, human interests and connections - their hatreds, rages, loves and vanities; their craving for praise and sacrifice and their demands for faiths contrary to reason and nature."

"...it stimulates the part of the brain called "shatners-bassoon", and that's the bit of the brain that deals with...time perception..."

Offline soup
Male
  • [ R I S E ]
  • 1,480 posts
    • keeeeeir on Skype
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2016 07:26 PM »
ill probably watch the other 60 mins at a later date and update my review of his review